Although Drunk Driving laws in Colorado are similar to other DUI (Driving Under the Influence) laws in the United States, Colorado also has a DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) Law. This law states that it is illegal to drive with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Level) that is lower than that of a DUI.

The DWAI law starts at .05 Grams of Alcohol (BAC) whereas most states have a standard measurement of .08 Grams of Alcohol (BAC). If you have been convicted for the first time with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) or a DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired), here is what you could expect:

  • 1st DUI
  • Jail – From 5 Days to 1 Year
  • Fine – From $600 – $1,000
  • License Suspension – 9 Months
  • License Points – 12
  • Public Service – From 48 to 96 Hours
  • Jail May be Suspended in Lieu of Alcohol Treatment Program
  • 1st DWAI Offense
  • Blood Alcohol Content of .05 But Less Than .08
  • Jail – From 2 Days  to 180 Days
  • Fine – From $200 to $500
  • License Suspension – None
  • License Points – 8
  • Public Service – From 24 to 48 Hours

Being convicted of a DUI can have serious consequences on your future. A potential employer may or could have access to all your criminal records, which could affect future employment.

It is extremely important that one of the first steps you take in fighting your DUI charge in Colorado Springs is to hire an experienced Colorado Springs DUI lawyer. Time is very critical and a qualified attorney will understand the laws and the proceedings in a courtroom. Having a legal professional helping you fight your conviction is the surest way to win your case.