Taking the law into your own hands is never a good idea, even if the target of your retaliation deserves whatever you have in store for them. You could be hurt, and you could end up in the same place as the person who committed the transgression against you–in jail. A Massachusetts man recently handed out some “street justice” for a wrong committed to one of his loved ones, and now he’s going to need a really good criminal defense attorney.
According to a recent story in the Taunton Daily Gazette, the man went after another man who beat up his girlfriend’s son over an unsettled drug deal debt. The man allegedly tracked down the assailant and punched him several times in the face before beating him with a stick. The assailant suffered contusions and was in pain but refused medical treatment. Police later learned that the assailant had gone to hospital earlier in the day and was treated for a shoulder injury sustained in an unrelated incident. Police arrested the man who beat the assailant on charges of two counts of assault and battery with a dangerous weapon. Another man was also arrested and charged with being an accessory after the fact after police learned that he took the stick used in the retaliatory attack and kept it in his apartment.
In Massachusetts, the maximum prison sentence this suspect faces is 2 1/2 years, in addition to a fine up to $1,000. That’s almost a slap on the wrist compared to Colorado’s penalties for assault and battery. First and second degree assault and battery in Colorado are Class 3 or 4 felonies, respectively, with prison sentences ranging from 8 to 24 years for a first degree offense and 4 to 12 years for a second degree offense. Fines for these offenses range from $3,000 to $750,000 for a first degree offense and $2,000 to $500,000 for a second degree offense. If you are arrested for assault and battery in Colorado, you definitely want an experienced Colorado criminal defense attorney who will work hard to get you the lightest sentence possible.