Breaking Down Shoplifting Charges in Colorado

Shoplifting Charges in Colorado

According to Colorado law, theft is defined as the act of taking property from another with the intent to deprive that person of property. Most often, theft involves taking property from retail establishments, which is known as shoplifting. There are a variety of instances that classify shoplifting into categories of offenses, all of which are stated in the Colorado Revised Statutes, under sections 18-4-401 and 18-4-403. The base penalties are based on the valued amount of the property stolen, which range from a Class 1 Misdemeanor to a Class 4 Misdemeanor. Below, we’ve listed a breakdown of all the penalties of shoplifting that a person can be charged with in Colorado.

Tier One

Shoplifted items valued at less than $500: Class 2 Misdemeanor under 18-4-401(b)

Penalty: Between 3 months and one year in jail and/or fines between $250 and $1,000.

Tier Two

Shoplifted items valued between $500 and $1,000: Class 1 Misdemeanor under 18-4-401(b5)

Penalty: Between 6-18 months of jail time and/or fines between $500 and $5,000.

Tier Three

Tampering and/or possessing tools to tamper with theft detection devices: Class 1 Misdemeanor

Penalty: Between 6-18 months of jail time and/or fines between $500 and $5,000.

Tier Four

Shoplifted items valued between $1,000 and $20,000: Class 4 Felony under 18-4-401(c)

Penalty: Between 2 and 6 years of jail time and/or fines between $2,000 and $500,000.

Tier Five

Shoplifted items with an exceeded value of $20,000: Class 3 Felony under 18-4-401(d).

Penalty: Between 4 and 12 years of jail time and/or fines between $3,000 and $750,000.

 

Civil Cases of Shoplifting

Other additional fines and penalties can arise with shoplifting as well. A merchant can choose to sue adult or emancipated minor shoplifters, which would be transformed into a civil lawsuit. A civil penalty for shoplifting would require the adult or emancipated minor shoplifter(s) to be civilly liable to the owner of the property. The individual(s) would have to pay for the actual damages of property lost, as well as an additional penalty between $100-$250.

How can a Defense Attorney Help?

A defense attorney who has experience with shoplifting charges in the Colorado area can be a great added benefit to help someone with their shoplifting charges. Someone who knows the area, the courts, and the prior cases will know best how to help. For example, some counties offer something called pretrial diversion, which is defined as an alternative to prosecution that sentences certain offenders to programs like community service or paying restitution. In regards to shoplifting cases, some attorneys can negotiate pretrial diversion for first time offenders or for young individuals who do not have a criminal record. Plea deals can be negotiated as well on certain occasions, which would give the accused the option to take a lesser criminal sentence.

 

If you are facing a criminal case, an attorney who knows the Colorado courts could greatly benefit you. Liberty Law Center has a number of extremely qualified, experienced attorneys who want to work with you to get the results that you want. Call us today to talk about your criminal or shoplifting case.

Penalties of Driving Without Insurance in Colorado

Driving Without Insurance Defense Attorney

Driving without insurance in Colorado can have serious consequences and could often result in the need for a traffic violations lawyer. There is a possibility of a $1,000+ fine, a driver’s license suspension for up to eight months, and even a year in jail. Colorado legislature requires that drivers always carry auto liability insurance that meets the minimum coverage of $25k/$50k/$15k. This insurance protects any scenario that involves multiple party car accidents, property damage, and injuries. Without this minimum coverage, driving without insurance in Colorado will be considered a Class 1 Misdemeanor.

If you have been pulled over recently and was unable to provide registered insurance, there are a few scenarios that could occur:

1st Offense

“License and registration, please.” We all know the familiar phrase that police offer’s approach us with. If you are unable to provide your insurance, the officer at the scene will check the motorist insurance identification database to see if you have insurance or not. If not, the officer could do one of two things: issue you a suspension and confiscate your driver’s license, or fill a citation that will suspend your license in a given number of days.

With the help of a defense attorney, you can file an SR-22, which is proof of financial responsibility that could allow you to avoid the suspension, if the officer filled the citation (the second scenario). Otherwise, if this is not completed, you will get your license suspended.

The penalties involved with a 1st offense charge of driving without insurance include a mandatory fine of $500 or more, and a license suspension. You must then register and receive the proper insurance, and will be required to pay a $40 reinstatement fee. You will also have to file the SR-22. In Colorado, it is common that you may have to provide 40 hours or more of community service—whatever is determined by the court.

2nd Offense

If you have been pulled over without insurance for a second time within five years, the penalties increase. You will be required to pay at least a $1,000 fine and the $40 reinstatement fee. Your license will be revoked for four months, and will have to file the SR-22 again. The possibility of community service also exists.  A second offense also increases the chance of jail time, as you could spend between 10 days to one year in jail for driving without insurance in Colorado.

3rd Offense

The third time within five years of the previous offense will result in similar consequences. Your license will be suspended for eight months this time. You will have a $1,000+ fine, the $40 reinstatement fee, and be required to fill out the SR-22. Jail time of up to one year and community service for no less than 40 hours will also be a likelihood.

How a Defense Attorney Can Help

If you have been charged once, twice, three times or more, an attorney could possibly help lower your charges. There are a number of scenarios that could potentially reduce the penalties associated with driving without insurance. If you did, in fact have insurance at the time of officer contact, you may be able to have your conviction dismissed. You would have to provide full proof in the form of a compliance policy and a certificate of insurance. If you did not have insurance, an attorney could assist in reducing the fine amount and ticket amount. You could also obtain the necessary insurance very quickly in effort to avoid your license getting suspended and thereby reduce the fine.

 

If you have been charged with these offenses, and want to know if there is a possibility of reducing your sentence, call Liberty Law Center today. We are experienced defense attorney in the Colorado Springs area, and know what needs to be done for traffic violations.

Top 10 Questions About Common Law Marriage in Colorado

Common Law Marriage
Common Law Marriage

The Basics

A common-law marriage is established in Colorado when two parties consent to live as husband and wife.  Both parties maintain an open assumption of a marital relationship, which means that both parties present themselves to the public as part of a married couple.

 

Additionally, couples must also meet several criteria outlined in several Colorado statutes.  For example, a common-law marriage agreement made after September 1, 2006, is considered valid if both parties were 18 years old, or older, at the time of the marriage.  If the marriage agreement is not prohibited, the common-law marriage is valid.

 

Colorado prohibits the following types of marriages:

  • Bigamous Marriage – One party was already married at the time of the marriage
  • Incestuous Marriage – Marriage between relatives
    • Ancestor/Descendent, Sister/Brother, Aunt/Nephew, Uncle/Niece

 

Top 10 Questions

  1. Will being in a common-law marriage affect my legal rights after a break-up?

Potentially.  You could encounter the same claims for property division and alimony that you would in a traditional divorce.

 

  1. Can I be common-law married if we haven’t cohabitated for 10 years?

Yes, you can.  There is no minimum period to be considered common-law married under Colorado law.

 

  1. Does it matter if my family and friends think that I am married?

In the context of a legal dispute, especially one with money involved, count on your “ex” to claim otherwise and get all their friends and family to support their claim.  You will be proving, one way or the other, whether you “hold yourself out” as married.  This can get very complicated and very expensive rather quickly in court.

 

  1. If we have children, are we automatically common-law married?

Not necessarily.  Remember, the essential element of common-law marriage is whether you hold yourself out to be “husband” and “wife.”

 

  1. What if I told my insurance provider that I am married so that my partner could receive benefits? Will this single incident come back and hurt me?

It could.  Keep in mind that any public declarations regarding your marital status can come back and hurt you in the future.

 

  1. If we are considered common-law married, can we just “annul” our marriage?

Unfortunately, no.  If you are common-law married, you must go through a formal “dissolution of marriage” proceeding.  These are commonly referred to as divorce proceedings.

 

  1. What if we have no plans for a wedding ceremony? Can I still be considered common-law married?

Yes.  You may be common-law married regardless of your plans for a formal wedding or other future celebration.

 

  1. I filed a joint tax return. Since this is a federal issue, will this be used against me in a state court?

Most likely, yes.  It absolutely can, and it almost certainly will, be used against you in court by your ex’s legal team.

 

  1. I am in a strong, committed relationship. If this doesn’t change, common-law marriage doesn’t really matter to me, right?

Wrong.  Should you die unexpectedly, your partner may be legally entitled to inherit your assets.  This could potentially keep your money and belongings away from your biological heirs.

 

  1. I might be in a common-law marriage. I have nothing to worry about unless the relationship is coming to an end, right?

Wrong.  It is important for you to know all your rights.  Additionally, you should be aware of the steps that you can take to protect yourself.

 

Should I Hire an Attorney?

If you have legal questions about your relationship, or if you need guidance dealing with your rights and responsibilities at any point in your relationship, you should connect with an expert family law attorney.  Contact Liberty Law Center today to discuss your unique situation.

Divorce and Family Law: Key Terms That You Should Know

Divorce Attorney Colorado SpringsDivorce: that word alone can be intimidating as it carries so much legal involvement with it. Before you know it, you’ll start meeting with your attorney, talking about court possibilities, figuring out child support, and all of your conversations will be flooded with legal jargon. This can be incredibly daunting, as you are about to make choices concerning your property, children, and lifestyle.

Hopefully, if you have an honest and trustworthy lawyer, they will be able to break terminology down for you and make sure that you completely understand what is happening. If they are keeping you in the dark, that is a problem. You have a right to understand the legalities behind divorce and family law key terms, which is why we’ve composed a quick glossary on some important terms that you may see during your divorce process.

ABSOLUTE DIVORCE: The final, legal ending of a marriage. Under an absolute divorce, both parties are able to remarry.

Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR): Measures to resolve marital issues without going to trial. These alternatives include things like mediation and arbitration.

AGREEMENT: A resolution of dispute through verbal or written consent.

ALIMONY: a payment of support provided by one spouse to the other.

ANNULMENT: A legal proceeding in which the marriage is declared void, as if a marriage never existed in the first place. This option is only available to very specific circumstances. APPEAL: When a losing party requests a higher court to review the previous legal actions.

Child support: When one spouse pays financial support to the other for a child’s basic needs, like food, shelter, education, and healthcare.

COLLUSION: An agreement that there has been false, untrue charges brought up by both parties to accomplish a goal in court. This illegal agreement may happen between a husband and a wife, for example, if they both agree to use adultery as a way to quicken the divorce process, when adultery never happened.

COMMON LAW MARRIAGE: A legal acknowledgement of two consenting adults who live together for a designated period of time (as determined by the state), after which they are considered to be common law m narried. Most states recognize common law marriage.

Court order: A written document issued by a court. It becomes effective when signed by a judge, and it may require action by one or both parties for things like paying support.

CUSTODIAL PARENT: the partner who has physical custody of the child or children.

CUSTODY-SOLE & JOINT: A legal arrangement that decides who the child will live with and how often the other parent is involved in terms of visitation, life decisions, or support. Parents can make custodial arragments according to what they see best for their child. Sometimes, this is determined by the court.

Default/default judgment: A court order or judgment entered without hearing one side, because that side failed to meet an obligation (like appearing at a hearing) in the allotted time.

DISCOVERY: The time period before trial in which information is gathered from both parties. Things like interrogatories, depositions, and documentation are collected during this time.

DISSOLUTION: The legal end of a marriage.

Equitable distribution: A legal decision to divide property equally between two parties. This is determined by health, education, employment, etc.

 

MAINTENANCE: One spouse’s payment to the other for financial support.

NON-MARITAL PROPERTY: property that belongs to only one spouse and won’t be included in any equitable distribution of property.

NOTICE: the formal legal process of informing one spouse about a legal action or proceeding involving that spouse.

PENDENTE LITE: Temporary arrangements for custody, child support, child visitation, alimony, and possession of the family home, until the final hearing.

PRO SE/PROPER PERSON: When you decide to represent yourself instead of getting an attorney.

QUALIFIED DOMESTIC RELATIONS ORDER (QDRO): A court order that gives a spouse’s retirement fund to the other spouse.

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENT: The legal amount of time a spouse must live within a state or county before that spouse may file a divorce action in that state or county.

Set off: When one spouse’s debt is deducted from the debt of the other spouse.

 

Temporary/”pendente lite” motions: A request that the court provide a temporary relief period in the ongoing divorce case.

 

UNCONTESTED DIVORCE: When there are no issues between two spouses in regards to court decisions about children, money, or property.

VISITATION: The non-custodial parent’s right to spend time with the spouse’s child or children.

Of course, this is list does not have every divorce and family law term that exists, but we believe it is comprehensive enough to start building a foundation for knowledge. We know this is a difficult time, so for you to have an understanding of the legal jargon means that you will have one less thing to worry about. Legal terminology can be dense, but we are here to help.

If you are in need of a trustworthy divorce or family lawyer, contact Liberty Law Center today for lawyers who are on your side.

5 Myths About Military Divorces

Colorado Springs is home to both army and air force bases, attracting many military families to the area. Here at Liberty Law Center, we thank you for your service. This being said, there are many misconceptions when it comes to military divorces. Being a service member comes with many lifestyle differences, but that does not mean that you will get unfair legal allowances if a divorce occurs.

Military Family Divorce Law

In effort to put rest to the rumors about military divorces, we’ve researched 5 common myths on military divorce and proved them wrong.

 

Myth 1. The Former Spouse is Entitled to Half of their Military Spouse’s pension.

The Truth: The amount of pension the other spouse receives is dependent on how long the two were married while the service member was enlisted. For example, if a Military Spouse had been in the service for 10 years, but had only been married 5, the other spouse would only receive half of the pension that was earned for the 5 years—not the total time served.

 

Myth 2. The Spouse that is not in the Service Will Lose Health Coverage and Commissary Benefits Upon Divorce.

The Truth: It actually depends on the length of the marriage. There is a 20/20/20 Rule for benefits regarding military personnel and their families. If you have been married for 20 years, the military spouse has been in service for 20 years, and there is 20 years of overlap, the former spouse will receive full commissary and exchange privileges, TRICARE coverage, and medical care at any military treatment facility. Sometimes, if you have not met the 20/20/20 requirements, the former spouse may be eligible for things like one year of medical benefits after the divorce is finalized.

 

Myth 3. Military Spouses will not Receive Custody of their child or children.

The Truth: A military service member still has rights to fight for custody, visitation and decision making authority. Deployments and transfers are a part of life for military, but those do not mean that you will not receive custody. Many states are creating laws regarding this issue of military parents receiving custody. Specifically, Virginia enacted the Virginia Military Parents Equal Protection Act which legalizes equal and fair treatment in courts when deciding what is best for the children involved in a divorce case. https://www.richmondsunlight.com/bill/2008/sb188/

 

Myth 4. The Military will Check to See if Support has been Paid.

The Truth: The military does not actively oversee support matters. The civilian court will be the court that deals with support court orders. However, the military can still discipline a service member if support is not paid and could result in punishment.

 

Myth 5. If the Marriage lasted less than 10 years, the former spouse will not receive any of military pension or retirement funds.

The Truth: When it comes to the disbursement of pension, there is no required minimum number of years that you would have to have been married. Pension will be distributed by taking into account the number of years served and the number of years married and will measure based on the overlap.

These myths only scratch the surface when it comes to military divorces, but still sheds some light onto the actual happenings of a court dispute. Just because military service members have different regulations and lifestyles, it does not mean that they should receive inadequate legal representation.

 

If you are in need of a knowledgeable, trustworthy divorce attorney, Liberty Law Center has an incredible staff that is educated on all the facets of divorce. We can ensure that we will fight for your rights to the best of our ability. Contact us for a consultation today.

 

3 Reasons Why You Should Have a DUI Lawyer

DUI Lawyer Colorado SPrings
DUI Lawyer Colorado SPrings

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, two in three people will be involved with a drunk driving accident. This means that this is something that almost everyone will encounter at some points in their lives, whether they are the victim or the driver. Drunk driving is a serious and well versed crime and the consequences vary from case to case, state to state, and lawyer to lawyer.  If you have been arrested under drunk driving charges, you may be considering hiring a DUI Lawyer over receiving a Public Defender. Hiring the right lawyer can make a tremendous impact in the results of your case, even making the difference between freedom and incarceration. Here are three primary reasons why you should choose to hire a DUI Lawyer:

  1. They Know the System

An experienced DUI Lawyer knows the ins-and-outs of the system that you most likely are not familiar with. They know what forms to fill out, what calls to make, how to schedule hearings, and most likely know the officials that will be hearing your case. This makes a DUI Lawyer more appealing over going into a case on your own, especially as DUI cases are something that they specialize in. DUI Lawyers also know the steps involved in a DUI case and will be able to walk you through each without you having to wonder what is happening next or why. DUI Lawyers are the experts that have the knowledge and ability to guide you through this possibly unfamiliar circumstance.

  1. They Know Your Rights

DUI Lawyers are trained by the law, meaning that they not only know the rules and regulations for DUI’s, but they also know your rights as a human being. When you hire a DUI Attorney, they are working on your side and will protect you the best of their ability, both before court and during.

  1. They Have One Major Goal: Defending You Against Your Charges

DUI Attorneys will work hard to potentially minimize your sentence to the best of their ability. DUI Lawyers take each case individually and assess them independently. Their job is to try and lessen the severity of the charges being held against you, whether that means proposing community service, lessening jail time, or even lowering fines. In any case, a trustworthy DUI Lawyer will be transparent in their strategy to lessen your sentence. They may know more tactics in court than a regular Public Defender might, and by doing so, could save you time, money, and in some cases, your freedom.

 

Hiring a DUI Attorney can be a debatable decision for you, and ultimately is a personal decision. If you want someone on your side, who specializes and has experience in cases like yours, then hiring an attorney for drunk driving charges is the best decision for you.

 

Here’s an additional guideline to help you identify if you need a DUI defense lawyer:

  • You absolutely need a DUI Lawyer if:

You have multiple DUI’s against you, if anyone was injured or killed during the accident, or if you feel that an arrest was mistakenly made.

  • You probably need a DUI Lawyer if:

If this is your second time receiving a DUI. You should also consider hiring if you were arrested for having an extremely high BAC limit that exceeds the limitations set by the state.

  • You should consider a DUI Lawyer if:

If you are not aware of your rights or do not know the DUI laws of the state, then it would be a good idea to hire a DUI Attorney. You also might want a lawyer if you don’t know the process, if you don’t know what to do or what the end result might look like.

 

In any case, seriously consider hiring a DUI Lawyer. They are here to protect you and could have a serious, positive impact on the outcome of your future.

 

 

New Colorado DUI Legislature in the Works: Minimum Sentences for Felony DUI Convictions

DUI Colorado Legislature

DUI law is constantly changing and evolving, especially as DUI numbers rise throughout Colorado Springs. As of early April, Colorado will likely see a new change in legislature regarding felony DUI cases. This new measure would require a minimum sentence for those who have multiple DUI’s, sentencing convicts to a minimum of 90 days in jail, or 120 days in a jail work-release program. This new piece of legislature follows closely to the 2015 Felony DUI act that is now in place across Colorado, which states that if you are charged with a DUI after having 3 or more DUI charges against you, you will be charged with a Class 4 Felony.

Colorado lawmakers are taking this 2015 Felony DUI Act even more seriously with this new movement-in-the-making. This was brought to light due to the concern and criticism that judges were not consistent in their sentencing when dealing with multiple DUI cases. Sometimes there was probation with no jail time, other times, jail time with no probation. Thus, a measure of consistency is trying to be established so that the courts do not have room to fluctuate back and forth between a greater or a lesser sentence.

The Denver Post collected data in 2016 that revealed that judges were giving drastically different sentence for drivers who had a habitual record of driving while intoxicated. These studies revealed that 8 percent of convicted felony DUI defendants received zero incarceration time, while almost 30% received prison sentences. House Bill 17-1288 would makes sure that there will always be a minimum, consistent sentence when dealing with felony DUI cases.

If you are in need of a DUI Lawyer, whether it is your first charge or even a felony conviction, Liberty Law Center can offer you professional, experienced advice and can assist you throughout your case. Contact us, or email at lawyers@libertylawcenter.com.

Smartphone Breathalyzer Apps: Possible DUI Preventative

These days, our smartphones are able to do almost anything for us—track our speed in traffic, give directions, count our footsteps, identify our sleeping patterns…Our pocket-sized, handheld devices are capable of providing us with technology that we never knew we needed. Over the past few years, technology has been developing even further in the smartphone era, as a Smart product is being developed that can identify how much you’ve been drinking.

Smart BreathalyzerYes. A Smart Breathalyzer. Over 100 different products are now available on the market that can test your B.A.C with a simple puff of a breath into the device. Then, the device syncs with the associated phone app and will tell you how much you’ve been drinking, even warning you when you’ve had too much and shouldn’t be driving. Some devices will even call an Uber for you, if your B.A.C level is too close for comfort. Other devices have been working with Smart Car compatibility, meaning your car would stop you from driving all together.

However, even though most breathalyzer apps account for your body type, weight, and age, it still may not be 100% accurate. A New York Times Author took a few of these devices to the test, alongside a police-grade model to compare the effectiveness and accuracy of these devices. Besides the law-enforcement model, only one other Smart Breathalyzer could accurately determine his exact B.A.C. Others did not react as quickly, while others were too low in their predictions.

The bottom line is, regardless of the available technology, you should never be driving after you’ve been drinking. Always err on the side of caution when it comes to getting behind the wheel, as even technology is not up-to-speed quite yet.

5 Surprising Facts about DUI’s

DUI Laws
DUI Laws

Driving under the influence: this is something that resonates throughout news articles, social media, and casual conversation. It is something that we’ve always been warned against. However, despite the buzz about DUI’s, it can happen to anyone, and is surprisingly more common than you may have thought. Here are 5 shocking facts about DUI’s:

  1. Two in Three people will be involved in a DUI accident in their lifetime

This means that over half of the entire population will be either the victim of, or the driver during a DUI incident. This is an incredibly shocking percentage that involves a large majority of people on either side of the spectrum. Along with this statistic, someone is injured in a drunk driving crash every 2 minutes.

  1. One-third of all drivers that were arrested or convicted of a DUI are repeat offenders

Over 30% of drunk drivers continue to drink and get behind the wheel after they have already been convicted of at least one DUI. This is a serious problem, as repeat offenders continue to go through the court system, receive their punishment, and still get on the road when intoxicated.

  1. The average cost of a DUI is $10,000

In Colorado, this cost of a first time DUI can range from $7,000 to $10,000, which includes fines, penalties, license reissuing fees, alcohol and driving safety education, auto insurance increases, and more. DUI’s can quickly become a costly burden, one that could significantly impact the financial securities of many individuals.

  1. Male 21-25 year olds are the most likely to drive drunk

Statistically, this particular demographic is the most likely to get behind the wheel while intoxicated. Even though they have surpassed the drinking age, they still have a chance of driving drunk.

  1. 28 people die every day in America due to drunk driving accidents

One person is killed every 51 minutes due to drunk driving across the world. This means that, at this very moment, someone just got into a life-threatening accident that could end their lives, no matter the driver or the victim.

Drunk driving is a serious matter that has multiple offenders every minute of the day. These surprising truths about DUI’s can give a little insight into the severity of this particular crime, and just how common it truly is.

 

 

5 Benefits of Hiring a Criminal Defense Attorney

Have you found yourself in a situation where you need legal help? Hiring a lawyer can be expensive, but having a lawyer fighting on your side will save you time, money, and possibly freedom in the long run, making the cost worth the effort put into your case. Hiring a lawyer offers many benefits and is the better route to take when you’re up against criminal charges.

Our court system is very complex and hard to navigate, and trying to understand the process and details can be incredibly overwhelming when you’re on your own.  When you hire a lawyer, you’re hiring an expert to interpret the law and work on your behalf to solve the legal troubles you’re up against. Lawyers work for you; credible and trustworthy lawyers will do the best they can to make sure you get the full benefit of their services for the money you’re paying!

Here are 5 benefits of having a Criminal Defense Lawyer:

  1. Expertise and Knowledge of the Criminal Justice System:

The best and most prominent benefit of having a Criminal Defense Lawyer is the expertise that they offer. Lawyers have been professionally educated to understand the ins and outs of the legal system, thereby having knowledge that we may not have. A criminal defense lawyer goes to many years of schooling to earn their title. A Criminal Defense Attorney, in particular, knows and has studied every aspect of the criminal justice system, as well as court procedures. They use this knowledge and expertise to build a strong case on your behalf. It is your criminal defense attorney’s job to defend you against the criminal charges that are being brought against you, and they have been educated to do this for you.

  1. Evaluation of Your Case and Game Plan:

Trustworthy Criminal Defense Lawyers know that you are a unique person with unique circumstances. Given this, they will individually assess your case and evaluate the charges being held against you. Because your lawyer is in your court, they will do their best to educate you and let you know exactly what charges are being presented, how they came about, and what they can do for you. Your lawyer will take on your case and create a personal game plan on how to move forward, doing everything in your best interest.

  1. Protection of Your Rights and Heavy Penalties:

The biggest benefit of having a lawyer is to have someone there to ensure that our rights are being protected. Lawyers have an in-depth education in Constitutional Law, and they will go beyond to make sure that your rights are being properly adhered to, both in court and out of court. In addition to protecting your rights, hiring a lawyer will also help you be protected against heavier penalties. A lawyer’s specialty is to be able to lessen or even get your charges completely dropped.

  1. A Friend in a Time of Need and Your Damage Control:

Another benefit that hiring a lawyer can provide, is that your lawyer can be your friend in a time of need and help you with damage control. Criminal defense attorneys see a lot of different cases and different situations, which means that they are likely to be unbiased to your situation and be help to give you advice. When you are facing criminal charges, you are undergoing a large amount of stress in your life. Having a lawyer lets you release some of that tension, because now, you have someone to depend on.

  1. Relationships with Court Personnel:

Lastly, a criminal defense lawyer will have relationships and previous standings with court personnel in the city or district in which they practice law. This will come in handy for you as a client because if you have a lawyer who is in good standing with the judge on your case, it looks better for you and may help in your favor in reaching a verdict. Unfortunately, we would like to think that sometimes this doesn’t make a difference and everyone is given an equal chance, but this isn’t always the case. Having a lawyer who is well liked in the courtroom community is a huge benefit for you!

Next time you’re in a bit of trouble and facing criminal charges, take a second to look through Liberty Law’s website and see how hiring us will benefit you!