The sooner you contact a criminal defense attorney, the better for your case. It’s your constitutional right to retain the service of a criminal defense lawyer to ensure that your rights are respected, and your interests are considered. Most people contact a lawyer right after they have been charged, or shortly before they go to court.
What Does a Criminal Defense Attorney Do?
Hiring a criminal defense lawyer will help your case considerably since they’re well-versed in criminal defense law. They’ll also investigate your case, evaluate any evidence being used against you, and suggest viable legal options. They’ll also protect your rights, explain the law to you, and help build a solid defense that can reduce the possible consequences of your crime.
Your lawyer can also help you appeal a conviction or sentence when necessary. A skilled criminal defense attorney has the experience to navigate the complex process of appeals in criminal cases.
Why Do I Need a Criminal Defense Attorney?
Criminal justice is complicated and full of intricate procedures and processes. You need someone familiar with the court system to advise and guide you through the entire process. In addition, defending yourself in court can be an overwhelming process and isn’t advisable.
Having a skilled criminal defender gives you peace of mind knowing that you have solid support on your side. Your attorney can also help to negotiate with the plaintiff on your behalf.
When to Hire a Criminal Defense Attorney
DUI-D, DWAI, and DUI are legal acronyms for drugged driving offenses. However, there are distinct differences between these offenses. DUI stands for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
The prosecutor must prove that you were physically and mentally incapable of operating a vehicle. If you get a first-time conviction, you may serve up to one year in jail, pay a $1000 fine, lose your license for nine months, and do mandatory drug and alcohol classes. While DUI does not distinguish between alcohol and drugs, DUI-D refers to driving under the influence of drugs such as marijuana.
On the other hand, DWAI stands for driving while ability impaired. The offense is less severe than a DUID or a DUI. To be proven guilty of DWAI, the prosecutor must prove that the drugs or alcohol affected your physical or mental abilities to drive safely.
DWAI-D, or driving while impaired by drugs, refers to a DWAI offense involving drugs. If you are convicted of a DWAI-D offense for the first time, you can face a fine of $500 and up to 180 days in jail.
Contact Our Colorado DUI-D Lawyers to Help Your Case
DUI, DUID, or DWAI charges remain on your driving or criminal record forever. Whether you have been charged with a DUI, DUID, or DWAI, you have the right to obtain a lawyer. At Liberty Law Center, we are devoted to defending you in court to ensure your rights are protected.
Contact us today for a case review with one of our Colorado DUI-D lawyers.